Free Life Cycle of a Frog Printable

Download a free Life Cycle of a Frog Printable and teach your students about frog metamorphosis. Your kids can learn about the main stages in the frog life cycle: egg, tadpole, tadpole with legs, froglet, young frog, and adult frog.

The printable is available in color and black and white. Below you will also find some information about each of the life cycle stages.

Life Cycle of a Frog Printable

Please click a printable below to go to the download page in the Printables Library.

life cycle of a frog

life cycle of a frog

For more science printables, please visit the Science section of the Printables Library.

Frog Life Cycle Stages

Stage 1: Egg
A frog’s life begins as a tiny egg, one among thousands. A bunch of frog eggs is called frogspawn.

Stage 2: Tadpole
When the eggs hatch, the embryo attaches to a weed in the water. Here the frog embryo grows, until it breaks free and enters the water. At this point it has become a tadpole. Tadpoles breathe using gills rather than lungs.

Stage 3: Tadpole with Legs
The tadpole begins to grow hind legs and lungs. The gills start to diminish.

Stage 4: Froglet
The tadpole keeps on developing. It looks like a miniature frog, but it still has a tail.

Stage 5: Young Frog
The tail shrinks and then finally disappears. Now the young frog ventures onto the land in search of food.

Stage 6: Adult Frog
When the frog has reached its full size, it has become an adult frog. It starts to search for a mate, in order to produce a new set of eggs, and restart the frog life cycle.

Did You Know?

  • There are over 5,000 species of frog.
  • One gram of toxin produced by the golden poison dart frog can kill 100,000 people.
  • Frogs shed their skin about once a week. Then they usually eat the old skin. Yum!
  • A group of frogs is called an army.




Register New Account

Choose your membership level

By subscribing to Tim’s Printables, you agree to the following Terms Of Use. For security reasons, only PayPal is accepted.